What’s the Big Deal with Sumo?

Last monthI was asked to write an article of the Miyazaki International Exchange Report. They ask local foreign residents to write about their experiences in Japan and share them with members of the International Association. I wrote a piece about seeing a Sumo tournament last year and thought it would be fun to share it here as well. I’ve included the Japanese translations (provided by Heyne Kim, a Coordinator for International Relations who works in Miyazaki) just for fun. Enjoy!

 

相撲のどこがすごいの?

What’s the Big Deal with Sumo?

外国人として日本のことを考えた時に、いくつかのものが思 い浮かびます。寿司、着物、金閣寺、そしてもちろん相撲が あります。2年前に初めて来日した時、これらの全てを経験 するつもりでした。都城での初めての食事を回転寿司にしま した。京都に旅行に行って、金閣寺は写真に写っているのより輝いていることがわかりました。週末に は鹿児島の出水市に行って初めて着物を着させてもらい(更にその着物をもらい)ました。この他にも 色々な出来事がありましたが、一年目が終わるのに、まだ相撲の試合を見ていませんでした。

When you think about Japan, as a non-Japanese, there are a few things that likely come to mind. Sushi, kimono, Kinkaku-Ji, and of course, sumo. So when I arrived in Japan for the first time two years ago, I had big plans to make sure I experienced all of these things. I ate at a conveyor-belt sushi restaurant for my first meal in Miyakonojo. I took a trip to Kyoto and found that Kinkaku-Ji is way shinier than the pictures show, and I spent a weekend in Izumi, Kagoshima, where the organizers helped all participants try on (and keep!) our very own kimono. I did all of these, and more, but by the end of my first year I had still not seen a sumo match.

見ようとしないからではありません。8月に都城に着いて間もなく私は相撲の試合が毎年福岡で行われ ているのがわかりました。何人かの友達と連休に試合を見に福岡に行く計画も立てました。ホテルも予 約し、学校に休みの申請もして、チケットの販売を待ちました。こういった努力にもかかわらず、チケ ットを買いにコンビニに行ったら、手ごろな値段のチケットは既に売り切れてしまいました。誰かがチ ケットを全部買い取って、通常の値段より三倍も高い値段で売っていました。我々はとてもがっかりし ましたが、高くなったチケットが買える余裕がありませんでしたので、計画を変えました。翌年にまた 試みることに決め、自分との約束としてカレンダーにも相撲の試合予定日を書き込みました。

This wasn’t for lack of trying. Soon after I arrived in August I learned about the official tournament held yearly in Fukuoka. I quickly made plans with some friends to go over a long weekend. We booked the hotels, applied for time off from work, and waited for the tickets to go on sale. Despite our best efforts, by the time we went down to the combini to buy tickets, all of the reasonably-priced options were gone. Someone had bought up all of the tickets, and was reselling them at three times the normal price. We were all terribly disappointed, but we couldn’t afford the inflated price and so we changed our plans. I resolved to try again the next year, and I wrote the 2016 tournament dates on my calendar as a promise to myself.

 

翌年になり、チケットの販売日が近づいてきたので、私は日本人の先生に相撲の計画を話しました。す ると、おどろくことに、相撲の公式試合が都城で行われて、しかも私のアパートから近い所であると先 生は教えてくれました。私はわくわくして、友達にすぐ伝え、新しい計画を立てました。今回こそやり とげると決意しました。チケットがリリースされる時刻の20分前にコンビニに着いて友達のための席 を確保することが出来ました。私はとても興奮しました。

The next year, as the time to purchase tickets again drew closer, I mentioned my plans to my Japanese teacher. She surprised me by telling me that an official sumo match would be held in Miyakonojo, right down the street from my apartment. This was very exciting, and I rushed out to tell my friends and make new plans. I was determined to make this work. I arrived at the combini twenty minutes before the tickets went on sale, and was able to get seats for all my friends. I was so excited!

いよいよ試合の日が来ました。観客達はみんな午前 9 時にスタジアムに集まりましたので、私達は 9 時 から試合が始まるだろうと思いました。私達の推測は間違いでしたが、早く着いたおかげで、選手達が ウォームアップをしている姿を覗くことが出来ました。今まで相撲と全く関わりのなかった私は、選手 達の柔軟性にとても感心しました。アメリカでもプロの相撲選手の体格に似た人々をよく見かけますが、 彼らのように俊敏で優雅に動ける人はめったにいないでしょう。その様子に少し混乱しましたが、健康、 運動、体重が、我々が期待するほど必ずしも直接関係があるわけではないことを思い出しました。自分 の目で見たとき、相撲選手はまさに運動選手であるという確信が心に強く響きました。

The day of the tournament rolled around and everyone showed up to the stadium at 9 AM, which we had been led to believe was the start time. Turns out our information was a bit off, but because of our early arrival we were able to watch the wrestlers warming up. As someone who had never had much interaction with this sport, it was pretty amazing to see just how flexible the wrestlers were. In the US you can find people who are comparable in size to professional sumo wrestlers, and not in a million years could most of them move with as much speed and grace as these guys. It baffles the mind a bit, and really reminded me that health, fitness and weight do not always have the direct relationship we are taught to expect. When seen with my own eyes, there was no doubt left in my mind that sumo wrestlers are indeed athletes.

thumb_IMG_8393_1024

実際の試合が始まり、私は再び驚かされました。私はスポーツにあまり向いていません。ボールを追い かけたり、競技場を走り回ったり、他の方法で力を自慢する人々を見るのは涙が出るほど退屈です。し かし、相撲選手達の動き方は、試合の速さや試合にまつわる儀式と共に、とても興味深かったです。次 のラウンドが待ち遠しく、応援している自分がいました。

Once the real matches got started, I was in for another surprise. I’ve never really been one for sports of any variety. Watching people chase a ball, run in circles, or otherwise demonstrate their strength usually bores me to tears. But something about the way the sumo wrestlers moved, combined with the speed of the matches and the rituals surrounding the event really held my interest. I found myself cheering, excited for the next round of fights.

そして試合が一段落した時に、我々は別の興味深い舞台を見ることが出来ました。他の日本芸術と同じ く、相撲にも厳守すべき規則や儀式があります。トップの選手達がきれいな化粧まわしを巻いて舞台を 回る姿は予想外でした。彼らは更に歌も歌い、これはアメリカのプロレス試合ではあり得ない光景です。 私の一番のお気に入りは、男の子達が舞台に上がってプロの相撲選手を倒そうと踏ん張る姿でした。選 手達はユーモアで対応しましたが、あの子達は期待以上の経験が出来たと思います。ふんどしを持って 子供を持ち上げる様子は私をひるませましたが、その時間が終わったら、皆楽しんでいるようでした。

And when the wrestling paused, we were treated to some very interesting performances of another variety. Like all Japanese arts, there were very careful rules and rituals to be observed. Watching the top wrestlers circle the stage in beautifully embroidered banners was not a sight I had expected. They even sang a song, which is something you’d never see at an American wrestling tournament. But my favorite was probably when a group of young boys got on stage and did their best to topple the pro wrestlers. The pros took all of this with good humor, but man did those kids get more than they’d bargained for! I definitely winced as a kid was picked up by his fundoshi, but when the round was finished they all seemed to be having a good time.

thumb_IMG_8363_1024

相撲は、最初から最後まで、良い意味で私の期待を裏切りました。この独特なスポーツを実物で見るこ とが出来て大変嬉しいし、相撲選手の敏しょう性を二度と疑いません。機会があれば、皆さんに是非相 撲を見るのをお勧めします。きっと驚きますよ!
From beginning to end, sumo defied my expectations in the best way. I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to see this unique sport for myself, and I will never again doubt the agility of a sumo wrestler. I would highly encourage everyone to see this sport with your own eyes if you have the opportunity – it is sure to surprise you!

Leave a Reply

