Guam for a Day (or Two)

Hello everyone!

Hello, Guam!
Hello, Guam!

After I returned to Vietnam from my winter travels I found out that I had the opportunity to go to Guam. Now, I really wish I could tell you more, but I signed a nondisclosure agreement and sadly can’t say too much until May. In any event, I spent a very short, very pretty time in Guam.

Hanging out in Saigon before flying to Guam. I met this golden retriever (a rarity in Vietnam, where most dogs are small and short-haired) a while back, and was on a mission to find him again. His name is Snowy, and he's a sweetheart
Hanging out in Saigon before flying to Guam. I met this golden retriever (a rarity in Vietnam, where most dogs are small and short-haired) a while back, and was on a mission to find him again. His name is Snowy, and he’s a sweetheart

Now, in case you were wondering, Guam is a US territory in the South Pacific, and is part of the Mariana Islands. All I knew about Guam before I went was that it had a military base and that it played a part in WWII. Both of these are true, but there’s a lot more to the Island than a military base. In terms of tourism, it’s become a bit of a shopping destination for Japanese looking to go to the US, but who would rather not travel as far as Hawaii. It’s also got some gorgeous beaches, an interesting history long before it became a US territory, and a few cafes that can make a mean pumpkin cheesecake.

My visit was extremely short – I arrived at 4am on Thursday and left at 2am Saturday morning – so I didn’t get much of a chance to explore. But, since I can’t really talk about why I was there, for now I’ll just post a few pictures I took while wandering around, and hopefully I’ll be able to say more soon.

And, for good measure, here’s a video from Last Week Tonight with John Oliver about the US Territories. I had no idea this was the case when I was there, but… wow. Citizens of US Territories are not allowed to vote. It’s 2015, this should no longer be the case. Take a few minutes to check out the video – it’s long, and it’s clearly a comedy show, but it’s pretty interesting.

One thought on “Guam for a Day (or Two)

Leave a Reply

