Back to the Blog

Hello friends, family and everyone else who forgot to unsubscribe from blog emails.

After a year-long absence I’ve come back to my blog for another exciting adventure – next month I will be returning to Asia for a year of teaching English in Cn Thơ, Vietnam.

Vietnam borders Laos, Cambodia, China, the Gulf of Tonking, The South China Sea and the Gulf of Thailand. Can Tho, the largest city on the Mekong Delta, is circled in red
Vietnam borders Laos, Cambodia, China, the Gulf of Tonking, The South China Sea and the Gulf of Thailand. Can Tho, the largest city on the Mekong Delta, is circled in red. Image from Mapsoftheworld.com

In my mind this has been a long time coming, an event I have been working towards and planning for since graduation and thinking about since high school. But that’s a story for another day, and I promise I will tell it soon, among other things.

So, to answer the most important, burning question I’m sure you’re thinking: Why Vietnam?

While to many of you Vietnam is a name that calls up images of a bloody war, that is no longer the reality. Vietnam today is a diverse, beautiful, and a downright friendly place for the roughly 400,000 American tourists that visit each year. During my time in Hanoi almost three years ago, I found Vietnam to be amazing in its natural beauty, delicious food, and fantastic people. When asked which country was my favorite to visit, my usual response was Vietnam.

So, when offered the opportunity to spend a full year in a country that had been so good to me in the past, I signed up right away.

Now, my experience this time around will be very different. For starters, three years ago I was in Hanoi – the country’s capital- which is in the North. The city I will be living in this time around, Cn Thơ, is pretty far south. This means both a drastic change in climate and culture. Cn Thơ is very tropical, as one of the current teachers with my organization told me recently, “there are two seasons – wet hot and humid hot.” And being in the south of Vietnam (which is a single country – the south and north were rejoined in 1976), I can expect that the food and culture will be different from that in the north, due to both the geographical distance and the exposure to the West.

So, what will I be doing in Cn Thơ? I will be teaching English through a local English center, splitting my time between the center’s paying students and local ethnic minorities and homeless children. My students could range from 5 years old to adults, and will encompass all levels of English ability. I am sure the work will be challenging, but worthwhile.

If you’ve gotten this far into my post, chances are you might be interested in keeping up with me as I once again journey far from home. You can subscribe to my blog by clicking the “subscribe to emails” button on the right. There will be plenty more to come, and I will do my best to make regular updates. In the weeks leading up to my departure, I plan on making a few more posts about preparing to leave, how this all came about, and how to go about packing for a full year abroad, the second time around.

As always, you can contact me through the comments, email, and even phone (until August 22). And if you want postcards, send me your addresses. Because everyone loves mail, even if it takes forever and a day to get to you.

One thought on “Back to the Blog

Leave a Reply

