July, July

Hello everyone!

Obligatory beach picture
Obligatory beach picture

It’s been a while since I checked in last. Somehow, I always end up getting lazy with these blog posts… Maybe it’s like summer camp, where they told the parents if I didn’t send letters home often that was a good sign (but somehow I still got grief about not writing enough…) Anyhoo, somehow it is now July, and I’ve been living the island life for a month. I think it’s safe to say I’ve settled into a bit of a work routine, and that I’m getting comfortable here. The living situation is working out well, and the other interns are all very friendly.

My roommate in front of the Mitchell House, one of the MMA properties.
My roommate in front of the Mitchell House, one of the MMA properties.

I’ve done a bit of exploring since I last checked in, and I’ve found that my job is a bit strange but in a mostly awesome way. For example, last week I spent a day helping the former director of natural sciences at MMA with his research on ospreys and barn owls. To do this I went out into the field with two other interns (who were from the astronomy department) and helped put bands on the baby birds. These bands help researchers identify where birds come from and approximately how old they are. It was a really cool experience, and from what I gather not something most people get to do.

This guy was the youngest of the bunch -you can tell because his face feathers haven't come in. Also, he was the ugliest. In a lovable way.
This guy was the youngest of the bunch -you can tell because his face feathers haven’t come in. Also, he was the ugliest. In a lovable way.
This guy is a bit older - notice the face feathers.
This guy is a bit older – notice the face feathers.
"Bird Bling" - The bands specially made for birds of prey help researchers identify birds
“Bird Bling” – The bands specially made for birds of prey help researchers identify birds

IMG_2927

Baby osprey
Baby osprey
Great Point
Great Point
As my mom put it, "Birdwoman"
As my mom put it, “Birdwoman”
The osprey nests can be up to 30 feet high. Can you believe I climbed this ladder??
The osprey nests can be up to 30 feet high. Can you believe I climbed this ladder??

As for exploring Nantucket, I went to the whaling museum a few weeks ago and was amazed by the guts those whalers had, spearing those huge animals with such tiny harpoons! I never would have dreamed of it, and dear god was it a violent job. I had to stop reading some of the signs because they had fairly graphic depictions. I walked away from the experience resolved to read Moby Dick, and since then I’ve started the book… and put it down again. I figured I’d read it in short bursts. That still counts, right?

View from the deck of the movie theater - I was there for one of the author events
View from the deck of the movie theater – I was there for one of the author events

I’ve also been going to most of the lectures offered through work, alternately for fun and as my job. I’ve been to several of the astronomy lectures, most of which went over my head, but they were interesting. I also attended several events where authors related to MMA in some way spoke about their works. For the most part, these bored me, but generally they came with free food.

A baby turtle in the natural science museum
A baby turtle in the natural science museum
One of the snakes enjoys breakfast. Apparently they prefer to eat the fish head first, but this guy was struggling.
One of the snakes enjoys breakfast. Apparently they prefer to eat the fish head first, but this guy was struggling.

Last weekend was the film festival, and I went to two films and attended the comedy roundtable event with Ben Stiller, Mike Meyers, Seth Meyers, and some guy I hadn’t heard of. The comedians were all very funny and it was an interesting discussion. I was glad I went.

Seining
Seining
The aquarium has daily marine walks where they collect and record sea critters for an ongoing study. I helped - sort of.
The aquarium has daily marine walks where they collect and record sea critters for an ongoing study. I helped – sort of.

IMG_2738

Tomorrow I’m going to a bbq with some friends from work, which had previously been postponed because we’ve had terrible weather lately. With any luck it will soon clear up enough for me to go to the beach again — it’s almost been a full two weeks since I was last sitting on a towel in the sun. Too long, at least by my new Nantucket standards.

IMG_2758

I’m working on the 4th, but I think I’ll be able to see some of the festivities in town, and I’ve been told there are several nice spots around to watch fireworks. I can’t wait!

One of the aquarium interns shows some visitors a horseshoe crab
One of the aquarium interns shows some visitors a horseshoe crab
Rufus, the dogfish, a favorite at the aquarium
Rufus, the dogfish, a favorite at the aquarium

That’s about it for now. I’ll post again soon about what exactly it is I do at work, but for now it’s a bit crazy. We’ve got the annual gala coming up this weekend and everything is suddenly revolving around the event. At least I get to dress up and go.

Till next time!

One thought on “July, July

  1. it looks great…..and who knew you had so many different talents.I had visions of you working in a museum gift shop when you left for the island. what could be further from the truth.?It is also hard to believe you have been gone a month.As far as Mobey Dick……watch the movie. ..the Book….toooo. Many whales. Ha. it is almost cold here. rather unbelievable .Last year it was about 110 degrees. tomorrow will go to the yearly, Barbara Lowenbaum. 4th of July lunch.It is her birthday…then home to the Cardnials…my kind of birds. Love the pictures …happy holiday.Angel and Charlie send their love. Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a Reply

