Northern India Tour

For the next leg of our Pacrim adventure we took a one week tour of Northern India. It was a crazy week, and we spent at most two nights in each place, but it was really cool.

The concubine's quarters in the Pink City Palace

First up was Jaipur, the Pink City. My favorite thing about Jaipur was, naturally, the fact that one day the maharaja decided he wanted his whole city to be pink and everyone had to comply. We spent two nights here and toured the Amber fort and the Pink Palace which were both very interesting.

The Indian version of Versailles' hall of mirrors? Equally impressive.

On the first day I saw the Pink Palace, which had a special room filled with the royal clothing, my favorite! It was so beautifully intricate. Afterward I wandered around with Lisa and Aleisha, our wonderful trip staff, and we walked by a man with a camera from the 1800s taking photos for tourists. Naturally we had our picture taken, and the man showed us the process of how pictures used to be developed. Very cool!

The next day after the Amber Fort we wandered into a block printing museum. There were printed textiles on display and a man was giving a demonstration of how they carved the blocks. It was really beautiful and amazing to see, and it was probably one of my favorite afternoons of the whole year. Sadly I wasn’t allowed to take pictures inside the museum, but everyone will see the gift shop goodies when I get home.

Palace Gardens
The Jal Mahal in Jaipur. I don't know what the story behind it is, but it certainly looks cool

After Jaipur we drove to an Eco-lodge where we spent another two nights. It was a really nice place to stay, and during the day we toured the nearby village which was known for a unique style of architecture. These buildings, known as Havelis, were homes covered in intricate paintings. No bit of wall or ceiling was left undecorated. They were amazing to see.

Every inch is painted!

Our second day at the eco-lodge we signed up for art demonstrations. some people looked at traditional cloth dying, some did wood carving, and I did resin bangle-making. Two artisans came to the lodge and demonstrated how bangles were made. It was very interesting to watch. First they take a stick of resin (which is a tree product, sort of like sap) and heat it up. They have colored sticks of resin as well. They apply the color to the original stick and twist the resin to create designs. They then mold this colorful piece into the approximate shape of a bangle and put a metal ring in the middle to hold its shape. They then let the bangle cool, and it’s ready to wear! We all chose our favorite colors and they made us each several bangles. So cool!

Playing around at one of the havelis

The next night was spent at a very sketchy hotel, and in the morning most people took bikes around a bird sanctuary. I stayed up late writing my thesis draft, but I wasn’t too upset about it. I hadn’t planned on biking at 6am anyway. after breakfast we hopped back on the bus and drove to Agra to see…….

I know it looks photoshoped, but I swear I was there!

The Taj Mahal! Yes, we finally saw the iconic monument, and it didn’t disappoint. The Taj is gorgeous, inside and out. Most of us dressed up in Sarees for the occasion, and I have never had so many people ask for pictures with me! We were dodging Indian tourists left and right, but we had a good time.

Naturally, I had to jump.
Luisa, Annin and I are all going to be housemates next year. We figured we needed a photo to hang in our new home.

The next day, before we ended the tour, I took an optional early-morning trip to another Agra monument nicknamed the “baby taj”. This is due to the fact that the Taj Mahal was based off of this much smaller mausoleum of another memeber of the royal family.

Baby Taj!

What it lacks in size the baby taj certainly makes up for in style. Much like the havelis, the outside of this monument is positively covered in intricate decorations. What’s most impressive about this is the fact that they are all marble inlays, a process that is both precise, time consuming, and labor intensive. The interior is painted, unlike the Taj Mahal, but I think I liked the baby taj better.

A closer look at the decorations

Afterward we drove to Delhi where we caught our train to Dharamsala. But that’s a story for next time.

 

